Jardiance lawsuit banner individual injury suits, no settlement fund found as of October 2026

Jardiance Lawsuit 2026: Injury Claims, Court Fights and Who Can File

Quick Answer

  • Yes, individual injury suits against Jardiance’s makers exist. We found no class action or settlement fund.
  • Payout: Not yet determined. No global settlement or per-person amount has been reported.
  • No claim deadline exists. Filing time limits vary by state, so a licensed attorney must check yours.

The Jardiance lawsuit isn’t one case. It’s a set of individual injury suits against Boehringer Ingelheim and Eli Lilly, plus separate court fights over pricing.

We found no class action, no global settlement, and no claim deadline. If a text or ad offers a “Jardiance payout,” treat it as marketing or a scam risk.

This guide separates the injury cases from the pricing cases and flags what’s verified. One surprise: the FDA’s 2018 Fournier’s gangrene warning rested on 12 reported cases across the entire drug class.

The Facts

CaseIndividual product liability suits against Boehringer Ingelheim and Eli Lilly (no class action found)
StatusScattered individual cases; no MDL or settlement found
Fund SizeNot yet confirmed. No settlement fund found
Est. Per PersonNot yet determined
Claim DeadlineNone. Filing deadlines vary by state; ask a licensed attorney
AdministratorNone appointed
Proof NeededNo claim form exists. Lawyers typically ask for prescription and medical records

Is the Jardiance lawsuit real?

Yes, Jardiance lawsuits are real, but they are individual cases, not one settlement. Plaintiffs sued Boehringer Ingelheim and, in some cases, Eli Lilly after injuries they tied to the diabetes drug.

Jardiance lawsuit banner individual injury suits, no settlement fund found as of October 2026

One early case belongs to Melissa Mitchell. She filed on June 6, 2016, after a ketoacidosis hospitalization. The defendants argued her claims rested on side effects reported before Jardiance reached the market.

A March 2018 complaint pleaded design defects, failure to warn, negligence, breach of warranty, misrepresentation, and fraud. It sought compensatory and punitive damages. Those are allegations, not findings.

Searches for this term also surface pricing and hospital fights. Those are real court cases too, but they aren’t injury claims. We cover them below.

Is there a Jardiance class action lawsuit or settlement?

No certified Jardiance class action or settlement turned up in our research. One consumer site mentions a 2019 class action over the same genital-infection concern, but its outcome isn’t confirmed.

Think of it like a warranty claim versus a store recall. A recall gives everyone the same refund path. A warranty claim makes you prove your own case.

A real settlement leaves a trail:

  • An official settlement website
  • A court case number
  • A named claims administrator
  • A published claim deadline

None of those exist for Jardiance in the sources we checked. Until they do, treat “claim your Jardiance money” pitches with suspicion.

How much is a Jardiance lawsuit worth?

Not yet determined. No settlement fund, per-person range, or jury verdict in a Jardiance case turned up in our research.

ItemWhat we found
Global settlement fundNot found
Per-person payout rangeNot found
Jury verdict in a Jardiance caseNot found
Damages sought in the March 2018 complaintCompensatory and punitive, amounts not stated

Amounts in injury suits depend on the injury, medical bills, lost income, state law, and the evidence. Any dollar figure you see online before a settlement exists is a guess.

Be wary of pages that print “average Jardiance settlement” numbers. Without a fund or verdict, nothing supports them.

Key Takeaway: Jardiance injury suits are real but individual, and no verified settlement amount exists to quote.

Has any Jardiance, Invokana or Farxiga case paid out?

No Jardiance payout is confirmed, and Drugwatch reports no verdicts or settlements in the Invokana or Farxiga MDLs. That matters because those cases are the closest comparison.

The Invokana MDL ran in New Jersey before Judge Brian Martinotti and closed in 2023. The Farxiga MDL sat in the Southern District of New York with Judge Lorna Schofield and shut down in 2020.

Some lawyer-marketing pages claim Farxiga settled in 2019 and Invokana in 2021. We couldn’t verify either claim. A claim without a docket entry is a claim you can’t trust.

So the honest comparison is this: related drug cases didn’t produce a public payout in the sources we checked. Jardiance cases have no basis for a payout estimate.

Reality Check: No court has opened a Jardiance claims website. An ad asking “Did you take Jardiance?” is lawyer advertising, not a settlement notice. Nobody can promise you a payout, and a stranger asking for an upfront fee is a red flag.

Who may qualify to file a Jardiance injury claim?

You may qualify if you took Jardiance and developed an injury named in these suits. No one qualifies automatically, and a licensed attorney decides whether a case is viable.

The usual building blocks are:

  • You took Jardiance (empagliflozin) or a combination product such as Glyxambi or Synjardy.
  • You were diagnosed with ketoacidosis, Fournier’s gangrene, or kidney injury.
  • Records connect your use of the drug to your diagnosis.
  • Your claim fits inside your state’s filing time limit, which varies.
  • An attorney reviews the facts and agrees to take the case.

Drugwatch notes that people hurt before an FDA warning may be eligible. Timing is a question for a lawyer.

Several law firm pages say they no longer accept new Jardiance cases. That’s a useful reality check on how aggressively some ads describe this litigation.

How do you file a Jardiance lawsuit?

You file a Jardiance lawsuit through an attorney, who files a complaint in court. No public claim form exists.

Here are the steps:

  1. Get medical care first, because your health outranks any claim.
  2. Request your pharmacy and prescription records.
  3. Request your hospital and diagnosis records.
  4. Write a timeline: start date, symptoms, and hospital stays.
  5. Ask a licensed attorney to check your state’s filing time limit.
  6. Ask how fees work before you sign anything.
  7. Refuse any stranger who wants an upfront “registration” fee.

Several firm pages describe contingency fees, meaning no fee unless the case wins. Confirm the terms in writing.

How do you check the status of a Jardiance case?

You check a Jardiance case by searching federal and state court dockets for the case number. Public docket sites and legal news services carry filings and rulings.

Follow these steps:

  1. Get the case name and number from your attorney or a news report.
  2. Search the federal docket for that case number.
  3. For state courts, use that state’s online case lookup.
  4. Check the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation site for any new MDL request.
  5. Read the actual order before trusting a headline about a win or loss.

A docket entry shows a filing happened. It doesn’t prove a claim is true.

Key Takeaway: You file through a lawyer, not a website, and the docket is the only reliable status tracker.

What is the latest news on the Jardiance lawsuit?

The newest verified court action is a hospital lawsuit over Jardiance’s 340B rebate plan, filed October 9, 2026. It isn’t an injury case.

Jardiance lawsuit timeline 2014 approval, 2018 FDA warning, 2026 Medicare price and 340B suit
TrackWhat it isLatest verified step
Injury suitsIndividual product liability casesNo class action or settlement found
Medicare price fightBoehringer v. HHS, challenging price negotiationBoehringer lost in district court on July 3, 2024; the Second Circuit affirmed in 2025
340B rebate fightAmerican Hospital Association v. Kennedy, D. Maine, 1:26-cv-00515Filed October 9, 2026

Medicare’s negotiated Jardiance price took effect January 1, 2026. That price is a policy outcome, not a lawsuit payout.

If you searched hoping for a settlement check, the honest news is that none exists. The pricing news is real but affects what Medicare pays.

Is there a Jardiance MDL?

No Jardiance MDL turned up in our research. On December 7, 2016, the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation created an Invokana MDL and left out Farxiga and Jardiance.

The panel said it’s typically hesitant to centralize cases against competing manufacturers. It knew of at least 20 cases involving Farxiga, Jardiance, or combinations at the time.

Farxiga plaintiffs later won their own MDL. Jardiance plaintiffs did not, in anything we found.

An MDL works like grouping many returns at one service counter. Shared issues get handled together, but each customer’s refund is still decided separately. Without one, Jardiance cases proceed in separate courts.

Key Takeaway: There is no Jardiance MDL, so cases move one by one in different courts.

What did courts decide in earlier Jardiance injury cases?

Courts split on early Jardiance injury cases, letting some claims proceed and dismissing others for thin pleading. All of these rulings are from 2017 and 2018.

DateCourtRuling
November 21, 2017Federal judge, Melissa Mitchell’s caseSummary judgment granted in part, denied in part; case moved forward
March 20, 2018Alabama federal court, Chief Judge Karon BowdreFailure-to-warn claim dismissed; plaintiff could amend
May 31, 2018Western District of Pennsylvania, Chief Judge Joy Flowers ContiComplaint dismissed without prejudice; plaintiff could replead
Date not statedEastern District of Kentucky, Judge Henry Wilhoit Jr.Dismissal refused; judge said discovery should come first

The common thread is the pleading standard. Judges wanted plaintiffs to explain what new information required a label change. These aren’t final verdicts, and none sets a dollar value.

What is the Jardiance 340B rebate lawsuit?

The Jardiance 340B lawsuit is a hospital challenge to a federal drug rebate plan, not a patient injury claim. The American Hospital Association, the Maine Hospital Association, and four hospitals sued on October 9, 2026.

The 340B program gives safety-net hospitals discounted drugs. HRSA announced on October 1, 2026 that it approved rebate plans from ten manufacturers covering 21 drugs, including Jardiance.

Under the revised plan, hospitals would pay full wholesale acquisition cost first. They’d submit claims within 45 days. Manufacturers would then have 10 days to approve or deny each rebate.

The AHA says the plan could add more than $1 billion in yearly administrative costs. A court blocked the first version in December 2025, and HHS withdrew it in February 2026. The revised version is scheduled for January 1, 2027.

Becker’s Hospital Review reports that drugmakers and PhRMA asked to join the case to defend their plans. As of October 12, sources didn’t show an order suspending the program.

Did Boehringer Ingelheim lose its Medicare price lawsuit over Jardiance?

Yes, Boehringer Ingelheim lost its challenge to Medicare drug price negotiation. Judge Michael Shea of the District of Connecticut ruled against the company on July 3, 2024, rejecting every claim.

Boehringer argued the program violated the Constitution and federal procedure rules. The Second Circuit unanimously affirmed in 2025, calling participation legally voluntary.

Jardiance was among the first ten drugs selected for negotiation. CMS finalized the price on August 15, 2024. The negotiated price is $197 per 30-day supply, against a $573 list price, effective January 1, 2026.

It’s like a shop owner suing over a city price cap and losing in court. The cap stands, and the price took effect.

Key Takeaway: Boehringer lost its Medicare case, and Jardiance’s $197 negotiated price began January 1, 2026.

What injuries do Jardiance lawsuits allege?

Jardiance lawsuits mainly allege ketoacidosis, Fournier’s gangrene, and kidney injury. Most plaintiffs claim the makers failed to warn doctors and patients in time.

  • Diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA): A dangerous buildup of blood acids. The FDA warned about it in May 2015.
  • Fournier’s gangrene: A rare, severe infection of the genitals and surrounding area. The FDA warned in 2018.
  • Kidney injury: Alleged in many SGLT2 suits.
  • Amputations: Drugwatch says these claims apply to the class mostly through canagliflozin (Invokana), not every drug.

The FDA’s May 2015 notice counted 20 acidosis cases reported from March 2013 to June 2014. By December 2015, the agency required stronger label warnings.

These are allegations tied to a drug class. They don’t prove Jardiance caused any specific person’s injury.

What did the FDA say about Jardiance and Fournier’s gangrene?

The FDA warned on August 29, 2018 that SGLT2 inhibitors, including Jardiance, can be linked to Fournier’s gangrene. The warning rested on 12 cases reported from March 2013 to May 2018.

Seven cases were in men and five in women. All 12 patients were hospitalized and needed surgery. One died.

The FDA compared that to six cases, all in men, found in other diabetes drug classes over more than 30 years. It required a new warning on every SGLT2 inhibitor label, with Jardiance’s label revised in October 2018.

Published literature puts Fournier’s gangrene at about 1.6 per 100,000 men a year. The FDA called it rare. That is the number to hold next to any dramatic ad.

Who makes Jardiance, and who is named in the suits?

Boehringer Ingelheim and Eli Lilly co-market Jardiance, and the FDA first approved it in August 2014. Boehringer is the primary defendant, and Lilly is named in some cases.

Drugwatch lists Jardiance, Glyxambi, and Synjardy under both companies. The two are alliance partners, not parent and subsidiary, though one law firm page says otherwise.

Johnson & Johnson (Invokana) and AstraZeneca with Bristol-Myers Squibb (Farxiga) face their own separate SGLT2 cases. Lawyers sometimes bundle all three brands in one ad.

Two firms’ pages say they’ve stopped taking new Jardiance cases. That detail rarely makes the ads.

Key Takeaway: Boehringer Ingelheim is the main defendant, and Jardiance cases aren’t bundled with Invokana or Farxiga.

Has Jardiance been recalled?

No recall turned up in our research. Jardiance remains on the market, and its prescribing information was revised in January 2026.

The current label tells clinicians to assess for ketoacidosis regardless of blood glucose and to stop the drug if ketoacidosis is suspected. It’s a label update, not a withdrawal.

A lawsuit isn’t a recall. Plaintiffs can sue over a drug that stays legally on sale. Likewise, a recall wouldn’t automatically create a payout.

Medicare’s negotiated price also applied to a drug still widely prescribed in 2026. If you see “Jardiance recall” online, check the FDA’s own notices first.

Should you stop taking Jardiance because of a lawsuit?

No. Ask your doctor before changing or stopping any medication. A lawsuit doesn’t change your treatment plan.

Know the warning signs the FDA listed for Fournier’s gangrene:

  • Tenderness, redness, or swelling of the genitals or the area back to the rectum
  • Fever above 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit
  • A general feeling of being unwell

The FDA says to seek immediate medical attention if those appear. Ketoacidosis warning signs include nausea, vomiting, unusual fatigue, abdominal pain, and trouble breathing.

Your health comes before any claim. Records from that care can matter later, but they never come first.

What happens next in the Jardiance cases?

Only one near-term date is firm, and it belongs to the hospital fight, not injury cases:

Expected, date not confirmed: The District of Maine court acts on drugmakers’ request to join the 340B case.

Expected, date not confirmed: A ruling on the hospitals’ challenge to the revised rebate plan.

January 1, 2027: The revised 340B rebate pilot is scheduled to start unless a court blocks it.

Not scheduled: Any new Jardiance injury filing, MDL request, or settlement. None is on a verified calendar.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a Jardiance class action lawsuit?

No certified Jardiance class action turned up in our research.
The injury suits are individual cases against Boehringer Ingelheim and Eli Lilly.
No claims administrator or deadline exists.

Is there a Jardiance settlement amount?

No Jardiance settlement amount has been reported.
No global settlement fund or per-person range turned up in our research.
Any number you see online is a guess.

What are people suing Jardiance’s makers over?

Plaintiffs allege ketoacidosis, Fournier’s gangrene, and kidney injury.
Most claim the makers failed to warn doctors and patients in time.
The companies dispute these claims.

Can I still file a Jardiance lawsuit in 2026?

Possibly, but your state’s time limit decides.
Those limits vary and we couldn’t verify them here.
A licensed attorney can check yours.

Why did hospitals sue over Jardiance?

Hospitals sued over a federal 340B rebate plan that covers Jardiance.
The American Hospital Association filed on October 9, 2026 in Maine.
It’s not an injury claim and offers no patient payout.

What is the Medicare price for Jardiance in 2026?

Medicare’s negotiated price is $197 per 30-day supply.
That compares with a $573 list price.
It took effect January 1, 2026.

Is Jardiance still on the market?

Yes, Jardiance remains on the market.
No recall turned up in our research.
Its prescribing information was revised in January 2026.

If you took Jardiance and were harmed, gather your pharmacy and medical records now. Ask a licensed attorney about your state’s filing time limit before it passes.

Ignore any payout promise. No Jardiance settlement exists, and the next firm date is the January 1, 2027 start of the revised 340B rebate pilot.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *